Bille August (born 9 November 1948) is a Danish Academy Award-winning film and television director. His 1987 film Pelle the Conqueror won the Palme d’Or, Academy Award and Golden Globe.

He is one of only eight directors to win the Palme d’Or twice, winning the prestigious award again in 1992 for The Best Intentions, based on the autobiographical script by Ingmar Bergman. He was married to Swedish actress Pernilla August from 1991 to 1997.


Honning måne (1978, In My Life) Entered into the 11th Moscow International Film Festival.

Verden er så stor, så stor (1980) TV Movie

Maj (1982) TV Movie

Zappa (1983) based on the book by Danish writer Bjarne Reuter. Screened at the 1983 Cannes Film Festival and the 13th Moscow International Film Festival.

Busters verden (1984, Buster’s world) based on the book by Danish writer Bjarne Reuter

Tro, håb og kærlighed (1984, Twist and Shout). Entered into the 14th Moscow International Film Festival. sequel to Zappa

Pelle Erobreren (1987, Pelle the Conqueror) based on the novel Pelle the Conqueror by Danish author Martin Andersen Nexø. Film won the Golden Palm at the 1988 Cannes Film Festival, the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film and the Best Film award at the 23rd Guldbagge Awards.

Den goda viljan (1991, The Best Intentions) script by Ingmar Bergman. Film won the Golden Palm at the 1992 Cannes Film Festival.

The House of the Spirits (1993) based on a novel by Chilean author Isabel Allende.

The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles (1993) Two episodes
Vienna, November 1908 (Season 2, Episode 9)
Northern Italy, June 1918 (Season 2, Episode 10)

Jerusalem (1996) based on a novel by the Swedish author Selma Lagerlöf.

Smilla’s Sense of Snow (1997) based on the novel Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow by Danish author Peter Høeg. nominated for the Golden Bear at Berlin[13]

Les Misérables (1998) based on the novel of the same name by French author Victor Hugo.

En sang for Martin (2001, A Song for Martin)

Return to Sender (2005)

Goodbye Bafana (2007) won the Cinema for Peace 2007 Best Director Award

The Passion of Marie (2012)

Night Train to Lisbon (2013)

Silent Heart (2014)

The Chinese Widow (2017)

55 Steps (2017)

A Fortunate Man (2018)